



Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering, R&D Centre In association with



IETE Student Forum (ISF)

Code: CBIT/R&D-ECE/TP/81/May 2021

WEBINAR NOTICE

Topic Guest Speaker	:	LATEST TRENDS IN RADAR SYSTEMS Prof. HS BHATIA, <i>Chairman</i> of IMAPS -I Former Chairman, Institute of Defence Scientists and Technologists (IDST) Bangalore Region Immdt. Past Chairman, IETE-Bangalore Centre
Venue	:	Google Meet, <u>https://meet.google.com/opq-yobz-jqe</u>
Date	:	27 May 2021
Time	:	02:00-03:00PM

Abstract

The webinar focuses on description and operation of CW, FM CW and Moving Target Indicating Radar systems, Radar Wave form design, different types of tracking radars. And also, on practical experiences in design and development of first ever indigenous pulse compression based Naval Surveillance Radar, dual frequency tracking radars, Central Acquisition Radar, and multimode radar systems. This webinar also gives you on guiding the students in knowing the career opportunities in armed forces.

About the Speaker

Prof. HS BHATIA is B. Sc (1965) and B.E. Sc (1968) in Telecommunication from the JABALPUR University. He has done his M.Tech (1979) from IIT DELHI with specialization in RADAR and Communication Engineering. He served LRDE, a pioneer DRDO Lab Bangalore for 35 years and contributed significantly in Design and Development of many, Technology Rich RADAR SYSTEMS for Armed Forces, such as



- ✤ First ever Indigenous Design and Development of Pulse Compression Based Naval Surveillance RADAR
- Dual Frequency NAVAL Tracking Radar for Tracking of Sea Skimming Missiles against sea clutter and multipath adversaries.
- 3D Central Acquisition Radar (3D CAR)
- Multimode Radar for LCA (TEJUS)

After retirement in June 2004, he was Prof and HoD (Dept of ITE) in KNSIT Bangalore for 10 years. He is Active member of a large number of Professional Societies such as IEEE, Fellow IETE, Life Member of ISOI, ISSS, SEE and IMAPS- India

Faculty Coordinator: Sri.T.Sridher, Asst Professor, Sri.P.Ranjith, Asst Professor Student Coordinator: Deveeka Ravi, Yashmitha Jain, Srihari Datta, K Varun

All are Welcome